Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2018/19 Season News

The Weekly News : Issue 15

Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print

The Weekly News : Issue 15

PostedMay 12, 2018


It’s the end of another campaign and as is traditional the Cowdenbeath Official Supporters Club are making their Player of the Year award today. The Cowdenbeath Supporters Club Player of the Year trophy was first awarded in 1963 and last year's winner was striker Kris Renton. Over the years such fine players as Andy Rolland, Andy Kinnell, Billy Bostock, Ian Harley, Raymond Allan and Joe Mbu have been awarded the trophy. Indeed here is the full list of all known winners. 2017, Kris Renton, 2016, Dean Brett, 2015 Nat Wedderburn, 2014 John Armstrong, 2013 Kenny Adamson, 2012 Joe Mbu, 2011 Craig Winter, 2010 Joe Mbu, 2009 John Gemmell, 2008 Davie Hay, 2007 Liam Buchanan, 2006 Markus Paatelainen, 2005 Darren Gribben, 2004 Bryan Gilfillan, 2003 Davie White, 2002 Graeme Brown, 2001 Davie White, 2000 Graeme Brown, 1999 Scott Snedden, 1998 Craig Winter, 1997 Barry McMahon, 1996 Sammy Conn, 1995 Brian Malloy, 1994 Willie Callaghan, 1993 Hugh Douglas, 1992 Eric Archibald, 1991 Dave McGovern, 1988 Scott Burnside, 1987 Raymond Allan, 1986 Colin McGlashan, 1985 Raymond Allan, 1982, Gordon Forrest, 1980 Rab Russell, 1979 Jim Davies, 1978 Ian Harley, 1977 Ted McFeat, 1974 Duncan Reid, 1973 Jim Moore, 1972 Billy Bostock, 1971 Jim Taylor, 1970 Andy Matthew, 1969 Andy Kinnell, 1968 Andy Kinnell, 1967 Andy Rolland 1966 Mike Clinton, 1963 Jackie Sinclair.

It was a tight race but this year the laurels go to young full back Harvey Swann who has showed much promise in his first year as a regular in the first team. Harvey topped the poll with his closest challengers in joint second place being Dave McGurn and Robbie Buchanan. Also polling well for the season were Kyle Miller and Jamie Pyper. Jordyn Sheerin and former winner Bryan Gilfillan despite only being back with us for a few months also picked up some support. Very well done indeed Harvey!


Calling notices for the club’s AGM to be held at Central Park on Monday 14 May at 7pm have been issued. Invites are also going out to new shareholders who donated via Club 135 and their Share Certificates either have or are being signed off and then sent out with an AGM invite.

Facebook Twitter