Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2022/23 Season News

Player of the Year 2022/23

Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print

Player of the Year 2022/23

PostedApril 22, 2023

Cowdenbeath FC are indebted to the Junction Bar Cowdenbeath Supporters Club for arranging and hosting tonight’s shared event whereby both the Club and the JBCSC participated in the awards ceremony for season 2022/23.

There were 4 awards made this evening. First up was Goal of the Season. That award was picked up by Scott Walker for his scintillating free kick goal v Hearts B. Runner up was Callum Murray for his score at Annan v Dalbeattie Star - a goal involving both audacity and tenacity. Scott Sinclair polled joint third with himself for his trademark goals v Hearts B and Gretna.

Next up was the players own award - the Player's Player of the Year. An award especially coveted by players as it is awarded by their peers and team-mates. This was a close contest and in fourth place was goalkeeper Danny Farrell. Popular midfielder Stuart Love was in the bronze medal position. Iain Davidson claimed the runners up spot with the winner’s accolade going to Sam Newman.

Cowdenbeath FC secretary David Allan and new manager Calum Elliot then made the Cowdenbeath FC Player of the Year award - this award was instituted by the Cowdenbeath Supporters Club in 1963 - so this was the 60th anniversary award. So many Cowdenbeath legends over the years had been proud to receive this award. It was noted that such fine players as Craig Levein, Darren McGregor and Greg Stewart had not managed to win this award - thus the winner truly would be part of a select band.

The voting this year produced a tie for third place - Alfie Robinson and Danny Farrell. In second place came Iain Davidson - who had been a wonderful influence on the team since joining the club.

In the last 3 seasons, Craig Barr (twice) and Fraser Mullen had won both the Player's Player of the Year and Cowdenbeath FC Player of the Year in the same campaign - the double. The double came up again this year as Sam Newman was acclaimed as Cowdenbeath FC’s Player of the Year 2022/23 - the first ever loan player to be so honoured. A great achievement by Sam.

The Junction Bar Supporters Club then took the stage to announce the winner of their Player of the Season award. The popular and deserving choice as winner was Iain Davidson.

The formal part of the evening was then concluded with thanks and messages including manager Calum Elliot giving a short address to the assembled company. The over-riding message from all was onward and upward for 2023/24.

Facebook Twitter