Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2010/11 Season News

Player of the Year Awards

Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print

Player of the Year Awards

PostedMay 3, 2010

On Saturday at Wee Jimmies, the Supporters Club held its annual Player of the Year do. There was a fine turnout for this gala evening. David Allan hosted the event on behalf of the Supporters Club and Danny Lennon, Iain Jenkins and the players were all in attendance. David thanked Danny and all the lads on behalf of all Cowden fans for the great enjoyment and pleasure they had provided in 2009/10. Cowden fans (more than most) are a vociferous, demanding bunch but all they really ask is that the team play for the jerseys. Ally that to the skilful, clever, attacking play we’ve witnessed this year then that's a great formula. No matter the final outcome this season, the fans are very proud of Danny and his team – the best 3rd Division side the 2nd Division has ever seen! The annual trophy presentation then took place and the prizes were distributed as follows:.

  • Supporters Club Player of the Year (Central Fife Times Trophy). Joe Mbu. (2nd Gareth Wardlaw, 3rd John Armstrong).
  • Supporters Club Young Player of the Year (John Finlay snr Memorial Trophy). Dene Droudge. (2nd Scott Linton, 3rd Jon Robertson).
  • Players' Player of the Year (Eric Mitchell Trophy). John Armstrong. (2nd Joe Mbu, 3rd Davie Hay/Darren McGregor).
  • Fans' Player of the Year (Junction Bar Trophy). Gareth Wardlaw. (2nd Joe Mbu, 3rd Darren McGregor).
  • Top League Goalscorer (Hookey Leonard Trophy). Still to be awarded – Current position is 1st Gareth Wardlaw 16, 2nd Paul McQuade 12, 3rd Scott McBride 6.
  • Best Individual display (The Pollock Shield). 1st Darren McGregor (v Brechin (a) 3-3), 2nd Gareth Wardlaw (v East Fife (a) 2-2), 3rd= Dene Droudge (v East Fife (h) 6-2)/Joe Mbu (v Arbroath (a) 1-0)/Gareth Wardlaw (v Stirling Albion (h) 3-3).
  • Goal of the Season (One Stop Mortgages Trophy). 1st Paul McQuade (his 2nd goal in 4-0 home win v Brechin City), 2nd Darren McGregor (v Brechin City 4-0), 3rd Jon Robertson (v Peterhead 5-0). There was a huge number of quality goals nominated this season – we were spoiled for choice. Other nominations included: Gareth Wardlaw v East Fife (2-2 late equaliser), John Dempster (3-1 defeat at Brechin), Darren McGregor goals v Brechin (a) and East Fife, Gareth Wardlaw v Alloa (1-1) and Stenhousemuir 1-0, Paul McQuade v Clyde 3-1, Scott McBride v Dumbarton 3-0, Jay Stein free kick v East Fife, Jay Stein 1-0 v Clyde, and finally Mark Baxter’s unusual use of his anatomy to score at Dumbarton.
  • Supporter of the Year (Lord Ewing Shield sponsored by the BLCC). Dublin Supporters Club.

Danny Lennon then took the mike to thank all the fans on behalf of himself and his players for the wonderful, loyal backing the supporters had given this season. He acknowledged the challenges that lay ahead for the club and the fans but underlined he and the players were behind the fans all the way in their aims to take the club forward. They are also all committed to giving their all to try and realise the goal of 1st Division football. Danny was also pleased to see so many different players had been recognized with awards and indeed indicated his relief that this year Davie Hay hadn’t won one! Davie though quickly hit back to remind all and sundry that he had indeed been named Player of the Year by our Dublin Supporters Club this season.

Facebook Twitter