Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2023/24 Season News

Player of the Year Event 2023/24

Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print

Player of the Year Event 2023/24

PostedApril 15, 2024

On Saturday evening, following the 2-1 win over Gretna 2008, was the Cowdenbeath FC Player of the Year event. The winners were as follows :

Andy Forbes Trophy- When lifelong Cowden fan Andy Forbes passed away back in 2023, his family wished to honour his memory by establishing an annual award for Cowdenbeath FC. It was agreed that the destination of the Andy Forbes Player of the Year trophy would be decided each year by some of our youngest supporters - the Central Park ball boys and girls. This year they voted and confirmed that the inaugural winner of the Andy Forbes trophy was Zac Butterworth.

Cowdenbeath FC Players' Player of the Year - Amongst footballers an award which often carries the highest prestige is the Players' Player of the Year - to be honoured by your peers and given this accolade is a real distinction. There were a number of players in the running and in 3rd place in the poll was midfield dynamo Matty MacDonald. The 2nd place position went to wing wizard Zac Butterworth. And ultimately, the honour of being named Cowdenbeath FC's Players' Player of the Year for 2023/24 goes to tireless skipper Robbie McNab.

Cowdenbeath FC Player of the Year - Finally, we turn to the Cowdenbeath FC Player of the Year trophy as voted for by the club's supporters. This honour was first bestowed 61 years ago back in 1963 and it remains the premier award of Cowdenbeath FC and its fans. There was actually a tie for second place in the vote and thus silver medal position was shared between Matty MacDonald and Zac Butterworth who each received 22% of the votes cast. The winner though picked up 38% of the votes. Now past winners of this award include the likes of Andy Kinnell, Eric Archibald, Joe Mbu and Craig Barr - the common denominator of course being that they were all leaders out on the pitch and inspirational captains. Following in their footsteps at Central Park is a man who ticks the very same boxes. In recent years Craig Barr (twice) and Sam Newman both did the double by winning both the Player of the Year and Players' Player of the Year trophies in the same season - 2023/24 sees that trend repeated with club captain Robbie McNab now acclaimed as Cowdenbeath FC's Player of the Year.

Cowdenbeath FC Goal of the Season- There have been many memorable goals that have won the accolade of Goal of the Season at Cowdenbeath FC. And once again season 2023/24 produced a fine crop of contenders. The top 3 in reverse order were as follows:

3) Jamie Docherty v Cumbernauld Colts (a). After some good work by Robbie McNab, Jamie received the ball out on the right, cut inside and fired home a rocket shot in off the underside of the bar from the edge of the box.

2) Ewan MacPherson v Linlithgow Rose (h). A through ball down the right hand side of the Rose defence by Ciaren Chalmers saw Ewan MacPherson show the defence a clean pair of heels and he took the shot early on the run by cleverly chipping the ball over the surprised goalie into the net.

1) Josh Jack v Edinburgh University (h). All season Josh threatened to pull off an audacious goal and he went close on more than one occasion with shots from half way. He was a constant threat from dead ball situations and the best of the bunch (and the season) was his hat-trick goal v Edinburgh University. It was 6-1 to Cowden when late in the game Josh stepped up to take a free kick out on the left hand side outside the penalty area. Josh duly flashed home a glorious swerving and dipping free kick high into the net - a marvellous example of tekkers and a worthy winner of CFC's Goal of the Season as voted for by the Club's supporters.

Facebook Twitter