Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

Previous Match
Next Match


Rangers 5Cowdenbeath FC 1

Date: 10th January 2016 Kick off: 1:00pm
Competition: Ladbrokes Premiership Referee: Mr Steven McLean
Venue: Ibrox Stadium Attendance: 20915

Our Scottish Cup adventure for the season came to an end at a rainy Ibrox before the live Sky Sports cameras.
The Championship leaders are a much improved side under new boss Mark Warberton and laid siege on the Cowden goal from the opening minute and they almost opened the scoring 4 minutes when a Waghorn shot when just over the bar.
Then Miller was set up after good play by Holt and McKay but Sneddon done well to block the shot with his legs.
The deadlock was however broken with 19 minutes gone when Miller picked out Lee WALLACE who slotted the ball past Sneddon.
Rangers continued to look for a third goal but it was Cowden who were to score five minutes from the break.
Ball brought down Spence on the edge of the box and Dean BRETT curled his left footed free kick over the defensive wall before it bounced off the underside of the bar before landing in the home net with keeper Forderingham rooted to the spot.
Three minutes into the second half the Gers restored their lead when Zelalem flicked the ball to Martyn WAGHORN who sent a curling shot past Sneddon.
Seven minutes later WAGHORN got his second goal of the afternoon from the penalty spot when Kerr tripped Tavernier in the box and the former Wigan forward squeezed the ball between Sneddon and the post.
WAGHORN then completed his hat trick with 12 minutes to go once again from the spot after Kane had fouled Tavernier.
TEAM: Jamie Sneddon, Brad Donaldson, Fraser Kerr, Pat Scullion, Kenny Adamson, Dean Brett, Declan Hughes (Aldin El Zubaidi 79), Lewis Milne (Chris Kane 56), Liam Callaghan, Gordon Smith (Craig Johnston 72) & Greig Spence. Subs not used – Aldin Roman, Mo Yaqub, Jack Beaumont & Luke Armstrong.
Goal: Brett (40).
Bookings: Hughes (18), Brett (78).
RANGERS: Wes Foderingham, James Taverier, Lee Wallace, Dominic Ball, Gedion Zelalem (Harry Forrester 62), Kenny Miller (Ryan Hardie 71), Andy Halliday (Dean Shiels 62), Barrie McKay, Jason Holt, Danny Wilson & Martyn Waghorn. Subs not used – Maciej Gostomski, Rob Kiernan, Nicky Law & Jordan Thompson.
Goals: Wallace (19), McKay (33), Waghorn (48, 55, 78)

No gallery images are available for this match.

Cowdenbeath FC